This scholarship honors the legacy of Greer Dawson Wilson by supporting a professional of color or woman to take part in an ACUI event or leadership development activity. This award enriches the ACUI community by developing the leadership potential of those committed to advancing campus community.

2022 Recipient

The 2022 Greer Dawson Wilson Scholarship recipient is Ja’Nelle King, University of Houston. King currently serves as the director for the Center for Fraternity & Sorority Life; she previously worked in the Center for Student Involvement at the university as the assistant director for registered student organizations—and activities coordinator previous to that. In these roles, according to one nominator, King never settled for status quo, always pushing to make improvements based on assessment data, best practices, and student needs.

King has been in her new role for just over one year now. She intends to use the scholarship fund to attend the Women’s Leadership Institute with hopes of making connection with other women looking to continue to be great in their respective areas.

Past Recipients

Note: This scholarship was named in honor of Greer Dawson Wilson in 2015 but was previously offered by ACUI as the Affirmative Action Scholarship.

  • 2021: Chelsea Lairamore – Arkansas Tech University
  • 2020: Yakima Melton – Rutgers University–New Brunswick
  • 2019: Cara White – University of Delaware
  • 2018: Juliana Jalal – Indiana University-Purdue University–Indianapolis
  • 2017: Katie Beaulieu – Texas Christian University
  • 2016: Lisa Dela Cruz – University of Texas–Austin
  • 2015: Melissia Schmidt – Eastman School of Music
  • 2014: Tricia Rodriguez – Texas A&M University–Corpus Christi
  • 2013: Dirk Rodricks – University of Vermont
  • 2012: Michael Coleman – New York University
  • 2010: Kate Strotemeyer – University of Vermont
  • 2005: Greg Reents – Mesa Community College
  • 2004: Gerald Lang – University of North Carolina–Charlotte
  • 2000: Adrian Rodriguez – Lane Community College
  • 1999: Jennifer Lex– California State University–Los Angeles
  • 1998: Eric Tammes – Ripon College
  • 1998: Diana Garza – Boise State University
  • 1997: Robbie Fung – University of South Carolina
  • 1997: Monique Robichaud – Quinnipiac University
  • 1997: Cedric Howard – Weber State University


Submission materials must include the following:

  • Name, institution, and contact information of the applicant.
  • A personal essay, written by the applicant, addressing (in 2,500 words or less):
    • Evidence that the applicant meets the criteria identified for this specific scholarship.
    • A summary of experiences related to advancing campus community, including positions or involvement the applicant has held on campus, in ACUI, and/or with other relevant organizations.
    • What activity is requested to be supported by the scholarship, including how the applicant would benefit from participation in the activity.
  • Two to three letters in support of the applicant to receive the scholarship written by individuals such as direct supervisors/advisors, peers/colleagues, students, faculty members, etc.
  • And an acknowledgement by the applicant that, if selected:
    • They are available to participate in the dates of the proposed activity.
    • They may receive a full or partial scholarship, and it is the obligation of the recipient or recipient’s institution to support additional expenses, including travel and lodging, required to participate in the activity.

The 2022 awards nomination period is now closed. Nominations for the 2023 awards process will open in November 2022.


The review process includes, but is not limited to, an assessment of the criteria listed below. The applicant must:

  • Articulate an interest in and demonstrate potential benefit from professional development in a proposed educational activity.
  • Understand the importance of the profession in advancing campus community.


Individuals eligible for this award must:

  • Identify as a professional of color and/or a woman;
  • Be employed at an ACUI member institution;
  • Not have been a recipient of the Greer Dawson Wilson Scholarship within the past two years.


Electronic notification will be sent to confirm award submissions have been received. A confidential Individuals Awards and Scholarships Committee, appointed annually by the ACUI president, will review materials to make the selection. One recipient will be chosen, unless otherwise noted for the specific award. One physical award will be given to the recipient, who will be recognized during the awards ceremony at the annual conference and in subsequent publications.

About Greer Dawson Wilson

Greer Dawson Wilson was a trailblazer for equality and access within ACUI, higher education, and the greater global community. Known for her smile and exuberant laugh, Wilson served as the first black woman president of the Association in 1989, annual conference chair for the 1987 Boston conference featuring Dr. Maya Angelou, and chair of the Committee on Minority Programs (COMP). She received the Butts-Whiting Award, our association’s highest honor for her extraordinary contributions to ACUI and the profession.

Wilson spent her life working to increase the understanding and appreciation of individuals from all races, genders, cultures, and backgrounds. This award seeks to honor her legacy by providing talented professionals of color and women the opportunity to enjoy professional development opportunities that will allow them to advance their careers as community builders within the student activities and college union profession.

Greer Wilson