The Revis A. Cox Memorial Award honors the passion of professionals who contribute relentless support for multicultural education and social justice through their leadership on campus. The recipient will receive $400 to support their professional development at an ACUI event to continue to grow as a mentor, advisor, and advocate for student learning and inclusion.

2020 Recipient
Keith Kowalka, University of Houston, has been a major contributor in the area of multicultural education and social justice both on his campus and within ACUI. At the University of Houston, Kowalka served as a member of a task force that provided the research and foundational aspirations for the Center for Diversity and Inclusion. He also created a Diversity and Inclusion Committee for Student Life and co-founded the Diversity Education Consortium, a group of staff and faculty committed to creating a more inclusive campus environment, at the university. Within ACUI, Kowalka was previously on the Council for Diversity & Inclusion and currently serves as the co-chair for the Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Program Team. 
Keith Kowalka
Past Recipients
  • 2019: Tonee Sherrill – California State University–Channel Islands
  • 2018: Wilma Jackson – Doane University
  • 2017: Anthony Roberson – California State University–San Bernardino
  • 2016: Amy Corron – Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • 2015: Mike Coleman – Tallahassee Community College
  • 2014: Tari Hunter – California State University–San Bernardino
  • 2013: Carole Dowell – California State University–Dominguez Hills 2
  • 007: Holly Sateia – Dartmouth College
  • 2006: Jeremy Schenk – Illinois State University
  • 2005: Elizabeth Jane Stachowiak – Berklee College of Music
  • 2004: David Atkins – George Mason University
  • 2001: Christopher Cottle – Essex County College
  • 2000: Gregory Wilkins – Florida International University
  • 1999: Bruce Haselrig – University of Pittsburgh–Johnstown
  • 1997: Patrice Coleman-Boatwright – The College of New Jersey; Teresa Drummond – Saint Joseph’s University; and Mims Harris – Colorado State University
  • 1996: Rebecca Parker – The Ohio State University
  • 1995: Debra Hammond – California State University–Northridge
  • 1994: Linda Stitt – University of Wisconsin–Madison
  • 1993: Ishmail Conway – Cornell University
  • 1992: LeNorman Strong – George Washington University


The review process includes, but is not limited to, an assessment of the criteria listed below. The nominee must:

  • Possess creativity and commitment to multicultural education through work in the profession.
  • Demonstrate contribution and relentless support for advancing multicultural education.


Professionals with at least five of experience in the profession at an ACUI member institution are eligible for this award.


Submission materials must include the following:

  1. Name, institution, and contact information of the nominee.
  2. Name, institution, and contact information of the nominator.
  3. Two to three letters in support of the applicant to receive the award written by individuals such as direct supervisors/advisors, peers/colleagues, students, faculty members, etc., addressing:
  • The achievements of the nominee in the profession.
  • The demonstrated commitment of the nominee to the criteria identified for this specific award.
  • A summary of the nominee’s background to provide evidence that they meet the criteria identified for this specific award, including information related to professional experience and volunteer service—providing a current resume or curriculum vitae for the nominee is optional.

The nomination deadline is December 11.

Nominate Now

About Revis A. Cox

Revis A. Cox, the late director of student activities at Virginia Commonwealth University, was an extremely active member of ACUI. He served as a member of the regional conference and steering committees as well as a presenter at the regional and international levels. His most important contribution was his work with the Community of Practice for Multi-Ethnic Professional and Allies (COMP), formerly the Committee on Minority Programs. Cox was instrumental in coordinating and chairing the For People of Color: Strategies for Success seminars as well as other COMP-sponsored programs.


Revis Cox


Electronic notification will be sent to confirm award submissions have been received. A confidential Individuals Awards and Scholarships Committee, appointed annually by the ACUI president, will review materials to make the selection. One recipient will be chosen, unless otherwise noted for the specific award. One physical award will be given to the recipient, who will be recognized during the awards ceremony at the annual conference and in subsequent publications.