The Excellence in Volunteer Service Award acknowledges up to six individuals annually for their success and loyalty to ACUI during the previous 12 months in a volunteer role. The individual's high level of engagement affirms the value of professional service, validating their leadership, passion, and contribution to ACUI.


2022 Recipients

Jennifer Duncan, Agnes Scott College, is a recipient of the 2022 Excellence in Volunteer Service Award.

Duncan has an infectious positive attitude and has taken the Region III communications coordinator role to the next level. Her work is fun, engaging, and high quality and has transformed how Region III communicates with members. Duncan also led the charge to revitalize the regional newsletter.

Jennifer Duncan

Ali Myszewski, Marquette University, is a recipient of the 2022 Excellence in Volunteer Service Award.

Myszewski currently serves as a member of the Education and Research Program Fund Team and is the recognition coordinator for Region V. She was described by nominators as the “epitome of an ACUI volunteer.” She is responsive, timely, innovative, and motivated.

Ali Myszewski

Molly Orr, University of North Texas, is a recipient of the 2022 Excellence in Volunteer Service Award.

Orr has served in different ACUI volunteer capacities, but most recently, she served as the 2021 Regional Conference chair representing Region II at the joint Region II Region V Virtual Conference. In her role, Orr has shown that she is adaptable, enthusiastic, strategic, and inclusive.

Molly Orr
Past Recipients
  • 2021 – Brent Freeman – University of Nebraska–Lincoln
  • 2020: Angel Flowers – Indianapolis University-Purdue University–Indianapolis; Danielle Mancuso – Southern Oregon University
  • 2019: Clayton Kolb – Virginia Tech; Rhonda Laylo – University of Illinois–Chicago; Brian Magee – University of Rochester; Kerry Spicer – Daemen College; and Brian Starkel – Indiana University-Purdue University–Indianapolis
  • 2018: Elise Alford – Boise State University; Lauren Sposato – University of Houston; and Alison Ward – University of Tennessee
  • 2017: Shanna Kinzel – California State University–Monterey Bay
  • 2016: Heather Beasley – Purdue University; and Jennifer Keegin – Binghamton University
  • 2015: Michael Sprinkle – Indiana University-Purdue University–Indianapolis
  • 2014: Laura Ballou – University of Rochester; Amanda Ellertson – Portland Community College; Scott Reed – Virginia Tech; and Molly Ward – Weber State University


Submission materials must include the following:

  1. Name, institution, and contact information of the nominee.
  2. Name, institution, and contact information of the nominator.
  3. Two to three letters in support of the applicant to receive the award written by individuals such as direct supervisors/advisors, peers/colleagues, students, faculty members, etc., addressing:
  • The achievements of the nominee in the profession.
  • The demonstrated commitment of the nominee to the criteria identified for this specific award.
  • A summary of the nominee’s background to provide evidence that they meet the criteria identified for this specific award, including information related to professional experience and volunteer service—providing a current resume or curriculum vitae for the nominee is optional.

The 2022 awards nomination period is now closed. Nominations for the 2023 awards process will open in November 2022.


The review process includes, but is not limited to, an assessment of the criteria listed below. The nominee must:

  • Have exceptional service to ACUI through a defined volunteer role, not on the ACUI Leadership Team.
  • Demonstrate a contribution, passion, and impact to the profession and ACUI through their volunteer service.


Individuals with membership in ACUI who have performed in at least one non-Leadership Team volunteer role during the previous 12 months is eligible for this award.

Volunteers serving on the ACUI Leadership Team during the previous 12 months shall not be considered eligible for this award, which includes Board of Trustees members, Education Council members, regional directors, and special appointments.


Electronic notification will be sent to confirm award submissions have been received. A confidential Individuals Awards and Scholarships Committee, appointed annually by the ACUI president, will review materials to make the selection. One recipient will be chosen, unless otherwise noted for the specific award. One physical award will be given to the recipient, who will be recognized during the awards ceremony at the annual conference and in subsequent publications.