The Presidential Award for Distinguished Service is presented at the discretion of the ACUI President to honor an individual who has demonstrated exceptional and unique service in fulfilling the mission, goals, and values of the Association. Through the award, the individual is recognized for dedication to volunteering, encouraging staff to participate in ACUI programs, and advancing the work of ACUI through their contributions.

2020 Recipient

Deepti Chadee, Texas Christian University, was honored during the 2020 Annual Meeting of the Delegates as the recipient of this year’s honor for distinguished service. During her term as an at-large member of the ACUI Board of Trustees, Chadee served as a member of the Diversity & Inclusion Self-Assessment Working Group to collect data from the ACUI membership, compile a benchmarking report, and share recommendations for areas of action and improvement. She simultaneously led the Strategic Committee of the board, connecting with staff and component groups on the implementation of a new strategic planning process for the Association with establishing and tracking measurable goals to achieve ACUI priorities.
Deepti Chadee

Past Recipients

  • 2020: Deepti Chadee, Texas Christian University
  • 2019: Anthony Otero, Rutgers University
  • 2018: Sarah Comstock, University of Puget Sound
  • 2016: Patrick Connelly, Landmark College; and Mark Guthier, University of Wisconsin–Madison
  • 2015: Ben Williams, Miami University
  • 2014: Brenda Evans, University of Massachusetts–Lowell; Jeremy Schenk, Virginia Commonwealth University; and Cynthia Woolbright, Woolbright Group
  • 2001: Caryl Stern-LaRosa, Anti-Defamation League
  • 2000: Bill Hellams, Video Producers
  • 1999: Peter DeLisle, seminar facilitator
  • 1996: Eric Conn, American Honda Campus All-Star Challenge
  • 1994: Gail Anderson Cywinski, Normandale Community College; and Pat Moonen, University of Arizona
  • 1992: Elizabeth Wright, Tuskegee University
  • 1991: Michael Freeman, University College London Students’ Union
  • 1989: Jerry Mock, University of Wisconsin–Madison
  • 1988: Meg O’Sullivan, SUNY Health-Science Center at Brooklyn

Criteria and Eligibility

In considering eligible candidates, a President may take into account the volunteer contributions of an individual or individuals that occurred during their tenure as President-Elect and/or President of the Association. The President has the option, if they choose, to not present the award during their term of office. An individual is not required to hold a defined volunteer position to be considered for this award.


    The process for selecting an awardee is at the discretion of the President, who is encouraged but not required to seek input from the Executive Committee.

    • If the President chooses not to give the award, they must notify the Executive Committee of this decision by Jan. 31.
    • If choosing to present the award, the President shall make a selection by January 31 and notify the Executive Committee that the award will be presented and to whom the award is being given.
    • One physical award will be given to the recipient, who will be recognized during the annual conference and in subsequent publications.