The Emeritus Award is presented to professionals for their leadership and dedication to serving students and advancing campus community through their careers in the college union and student activities field. While intended to recognize those retiring from the profession, on appropriate occasions, the ACUI Emeritus Award may be awarded to a professional who has rendered exceptional service to ACUI but has left the college union and student activities field in pursuit of another career.

2022 Recipients
Beth Bailey, Kansas State University

Beth Bailey has 34 years of service in the field, including as assistant director and program manager at Kansas State University, director of student activities at Missouri State University, manager of programs at Iowa State University, and director of student activities at Oklahoma State University. In her six years of service to ACUI, Bailey was a member of the annual conference host team, director of Region 11, and a regional social media coordinator and education council representative. She retired in April 2021. 

Justin Camputaro, University of Washington

Justin Camputaro has 21 years of service in the field, including as executive director at the University of Washington, director of student centers and activities at Virginia Tech, student union director at the University of North Florida, director of campus activities and student commons at Jacksonville University, and assistant director of student activities at Florida State University. In his years of service to ACUI, he served on the Education Council, was a member of the Role of the College Union Statement Working Group, served as a regional educational sessions coordinator and conference chair, contributor to The Bulletin magazine, and college bowl team leader. Camputaro will be leaving the profession in May 2022. 

Hollie Lutz, Indiana University

Hollie Lutz has 26 years of service in the field, including as assistant director of meetings and conference services at Indiana University. For over 20 years, Lutz supported the work of ACUI by working closely with ACUI Central Office staff and volunteers to successfully produce numerous events held at Indiana Memorial Union, including Leadership Team meetings and IPDS: New Professionals Orientation. She retired in February 2022. 

Denny Olsen, University of Minnesota–Twin Cities

Denny Olsen has 30 years of service in numerous student affairs roles, including as interim director at the University of Minnesota–Twin Cities. In his six years of service with ACUI, he served on the Conference Program Team, as a member of the Corporate Partnerships Development Team, and as a contributor to The Bulletin magazine. He retired in July 2021. 

Michael Swanigan, University of Michigan

Michael Swanigan has 47 years of service in student affairs, including as director of Pierpoint Commons and the William Monroe Trotter House, both at the University of Michigan. He retired in December 2021. 

Past Recipients

  • 2021: Carolyn E. Farley, Tom Hauber, Barbara Niemi, Carole Reed, Floyd Taliaferro, and Valerie Wetzel
  • 2020: Jimmie Baker, Charlie Francis, Steve Gnadt, Tina Pinocci, Rachel Wussow
  • 2019: Terry Clayton, Kris Corda, Ronald Dunkel, John Herbst, Paul Knell, Brenda Keagle, MaryAnne Lustgraaf, Frank Marsilli, Otis Mamed, Clarresa Morton, Marilyn Prime, and Paul Zuchowski
  • 2018: Patrick Brown, Randall Hedge, James Hoppa, Ellen Kusano, Thomas Molski, and Jane Rhyner
  • 2017: William Brown, Lynn Cacha, Leslie Davis, Anita Douglas, Deborah Felder, Carol Garcia, Ed Knoll, Bruce Morgan, and Gregory Tatham
  • 2016: Guy Conway, Jim Herrman, Gail Olyha
  • 2015: Lydia Anderson, William Clutter, Marguerite Elliott, Bart Hall, Bruce Hamilton, Jim Schuster, and Tony Trimarco
  • 2014: Donald Castle, Richard Heller, Bruce Jacobs, Karen Mehnert-Meland, Larry Mosher, David Robertson, Thom Simmons, and Robert Yecke
  • 2013: Dan Cornthwaite, Charles Morrell, Gale Swanka, and Margaret Vos
  • 2012: Leland Bennett, Jonathan Curtis, Alan Kirby, Helga Kray, Andy Rhoades, and Thomas Trimble
  • 2011: Jack Connaughton, John Drinkwater, Candy Holt, Karen Jones Thomas, Bruce Michaels, Charles Miller, Barbara Ross, Gloria Schultz, Audrey Schwimmer, and Carol Tuttle
  • 2010: Mary Blair, Mary Covell, Paul Franklin, Brenda Goupee, Larry Huisman, Mary Keller, Deborah Matthews, Terry McGlincy, Wyl Parker, T.J. Petropoulos, William Steil, Kitty Willis, Mary Yates, and Randy Zarn
  • 2009: Allen Bertelsen, Joseph Comeau, William Dee, Rowland Hughes, Larry Markley, and Donnchadh O'hAodha
  • 2008: Louis Camera, David Johnson, Carol Raske, Mary Robinson, and Marc Tuchman
  • 2007: Vicki Fete, Cassandra Gassaway, Kaycee Schilke, and Ed Stansell
  • 2006: Jay Anderson, Earl Cashon, David Hertz, Phyllis Kuhl, J. Ryck Luthi, James Reynolds, T.J. Rutherford, and Tom Shubert
  • 2005: Charles Huber, Harvey McKee, Linda Offman, Thomas Peters, Daryl Swanson, Annie Thornton, and John Wright
  • 2004: Charles Huber, Robert Schneeweiss, Roger Eslinger, Ruben Santos, Fay Sharman, and Jack Smith
  • 2003: Thomas Webb and Timothy Wilmot
  • 2002: Sally Allison-Bland and Helen Welford
  • 2001: Ted Crabb
  • 2000: Colleen Hennessy, Edward Snyder, and Lyle Ward
  • 1999: Shirley Adkins, David Elmore, and Donald Hinde
  • 1998: Donald Carter, Spencer Marston, and Vern Solbach
  • 1997: Robert Brookover, Frank Harris, and Phil Hirsch
  • 1996: Francis Atkinson, Lorna Dawes, Clark Drummond, E. Max Fleetwood, Dallas Garber, Eleanor Kurtz, Richard Naumann, Rodger Pruis, Gail Steinhilber, and Lorraine Wales
  • 1995: William Blain, Harold Closson, Delores Donnelly, John Ellinger, Thomas Levitan, and Maurice Seeman


Submission materials must include the following:

  1. Name, institution, and contact information of the nominee.
  2. Name, institution, and contact information of the nominator.
  3. At least one letter in support of the applicant to receive the award written by individual(s) such as direct supervisors/advisors, peers/colleagues, students, faculty members, etc., addressing:
  • The achievements of the nominee in the profession.
  • The demonstrated commitment of the nominee to the criteria identified for this specific award.
  • A summary of the nominee's background to provide evidence that they meet the criteria identified for this specific award, including information related to professional experience and volunteer service—providing a current resume for the nominee is optional.

Note that only one nomination is necessary for a nominee to be considered, and the identity of the nominator will not be disclosed during the selection process.

The 2022 awards nomination period is now closed. Nominations for the 2023 awards process will open in November 2022. 

Criteria and Eligibility

At a minimum, individuals eligible for this award must:

  • Have ten years of employment in the profession at ACUI member institutions; or be a non-union/activities professional who has rendered exceptional service to ACUI, but has left the profession in pursuit of other careers.
  • Be retiring or have retired within a year of nomination.


Nominators will receive electronic notification confirming receipt of materials. This honor is conferred by the Board of Trustees. A physical award will be given to the recipients, who will be recognized during the awards ceremony at the annual conference and in subsequent publications.