The Collaborative Program of the Year is awarded to creative programs which exemplify the positive outcomes of a collaboration within or between institutions. The award advances the value and credibility of the college union on campus, while improving communication, leadership, and campus partnerships.

2020 Recipient

The 2020 Collaborative Program of the Year, Juneteeth Celebration at the University of Texas–San Antonio, was created by the joined forces of the Student Union, Student Center for Community Engagement and Inclusion, Student Government Association, and African American Studies. Juneteenth, also known as Freedom Day, is a U.S. holiday that is celebrated on the 19th of June to commemorate the emancipation of slavery. Over 250 students attended the event that allowed students to expand their world view and opinions in a diverse, inclusive, and safe environment. The day began with an a cappella performance of “Oh, Freedom” and continued with guest speakers, poetry readings, community discussion, and food.

Juneteeth Celebration
Juneteeth Celebration
Past Recipients
  • 2019: What it Means to be a Redbird – Illinois State University
  • 2018: Family Graduation Celebration – Texas Woman's University
  • 2017: MyUH, MyHouston – University of Houston
  • 2016: Experience Tallahassee Festival – Florida State University, Florida A&M University, Tallahassee Community College
  • 2015: The Bro Code – University of South Alabama
  • 2014: Major Declaration Celebration – University of Rochester
  • 2013: Packapalooza – North Carolina State University
  • 2012: ACT (Achieving Community Together) Campaign – Texas State University
  • 2011: CONNECT: High-Risk Drinking Prevention Program – The College at Brockport
  • 2010: Stand Up for One Another – SUNY–Geneseo
  • 2009: Study Union – University of Central Florida
  • 2008: HumorFest – East Carolina University


The review process includes, but is not limited to, an assessment of the criteria listed below. Due to the wide variety of programs that can be considered, a program does not need to meet every criterion. The program must:

  • Demonstrate excellence in campus programming.
  • Be a true collaboration between multiple organizations, with planning, implementation, and evaluation work divided among all partners.
  • Demonstrate the use of practices that exemplify outstanding creativity or introduce new approaches beyond what is standard.
  • Achieve its stated intended outcomes.


    All ACUI member institutions are eligible to apply for this award. For collaborative initiatives or partnerships, all institutions must be ACUI members. Eligible programs must:

    • Have taken place since the beginning of the previous academic year.
    • Serve as a model to other campuses for replication.
    • Achieve its stated program outcomes and objectives, with evaluation tools in place.
    • Agree to allow a summary of their accomplishments to be published.


    Applications for this campus award will be collected again in December 2020. Submission materials must include the following:

    1. Name, institution, and contact information of the primary contact for the program.
    2. Title of the program.
    3. A two-page summary of the program, addressing:
      • Description of the program, including goals and intended outcomes.
      • Description and inclusion of the evaluation methods in place for the program, including brief rationale for choosing stated methods.
      • Evidence that the program meets the criteria identified for this specific award.
    4. And one compiled packet of additional supporting documentation for the program, which could include photos, marketing samples, course materials, budget information, testimonials, etc. No page limit exists, but only the first 15 pages will be considered by the review committee.


    Electronic notification will be sent to confirm submissions have been received. A confidential Campus Awards Committee, appointed annually by the ACUI president, will review materials to make the selection. One recipient will be chosen, unless otherwise noted for the specific award. One physical award will be given to the recipient, who will be recognized during the awards ceremony at the annual conference and in subsequent publications.