Updates and Releases

ACUI Announces Award Recipients at 2023 Annual Conference

ACUI’s 2023 awards and scholarship recipients are being announced throughout the Annual Conference, February 26–March 1. Please congratulate recipients for their achievement and thank them for serving as models of leadership and innovation to advance our work as community builders in higher education.

2023 Award Recipients

Distinguished Awards
  • Butts-Whiting Award: Victoria Angis
  • Emeritus Award: Debra Blade, Northwestern University; David Mucci, University of Kansas; Tim Moore, University of Louisville; Rick Thomas, University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee; Brad Vest, Appalachian State University; Laurie Woodward, University of Oregon.
  • Honorary Lifetime Membership: Gary Chrzastowski, Indiana University; Mark Day, Laguna College of Art + Design; Michael Ellington, West Virginia University; Krista Harrell, Old Dominion University; Sharon “Chickie” Silverstein, Suffolk Community College.
  • Legacy Leader: Kyle Burke, University of Wisconsin–La Crosse; Jennifer Keegin, Binghamton University
  • Presidential Award for Distinguished Service: Sarah Aikman, Northern Kentucky University

Campus Awards

Individual Awards


Writing and Research Awards

Facility Design Awards
  • Duda|Paine Architects and VMDO Architects, Student Health & Wellness Center, University of Virginia
  • Mackey Mitchell Architects and Ashley McGraw Architects, Hildegarde and J. Myer Schine Student Center, Syracuse University
  • Opsis Architecture, Wacheno Welcome Center, Clackamas Community College
  • WTW Architects and JLG Architects, Memorial Union, University of North Dakota

Steal This Idea

The 2023 Steal this Idea Best in Show recipient is California State University Fullerton's Beyond the Conversation Spring 2022. Find the complete listing here.

Load more comments
New code
Login to be able to comment