Updates and Releases

ACUI Honors 2022 Award Recipients

ACUI’s 2022 awards and scholarship recipients were announced throughout the Annual Conference, March 13–17. Some awards were announced live in Chicago, while others were shared via social media. Please congratulate recipients for their achievement and thank them for serving as models of leadership and innovation to advance our work as community builders in higher education.

2022 Award Recipients

Distinguished Awards
  • Emeritus Award: Beth Bailey, Kansas State University; Justin Camputaro, University of Washington; Hollie Lutz, Indiana University; Denny Olsen, University of Minnesota–Twin Cities; Michael Swanigan, University of Michigan
  • Honorary Lifetime Membership: Victoria Angis, Carleton State College; Elizabeth Beltramini, ACUI; Mary Connelly, University of Massachusetts–Lowell; Jim Eustrom, Chemeketa Community College; Whit Hollis, University of Utah
  • Legacy Leader Award: Missy Burgess, University of Wisconsin–Oshkosh; Debra Hammond, California State University–Northridge; Sharon "Chickie" Silverstein, Suffolk County Community College
  • Presidential Award for Distinguished Service: Elizabeth Beltramini, ACUI; Geoff Combs, University of Massachusetts–Boston
  • Butts-Whiting Award: Lincoln Johnson, University of Washington

Campus Awards

Individual Awards


Writing and Research Awards
  • Earl Whitfield Regional Outreach Award: Region III, #StayConnected
  • ACUI Research and Education Grant: Dr. Clayton Kolb, Dr. Sendy Alcidonis, Steven Feldman, and Denice Velez, West Chester University
  • Daniel M. Maxwell Dissertation of the Year Award: Allen Womble, University of Illinois Chicago

Facility Design Awards
  • Creative Village, University of Florida and Valencia College, Cannon Design
  • L. Gale Lemerand Student Center, Daytona State College, ikon.5 architects
  • D.P. Culp Center, East Tennessee State University, Moody Nolan
  • Michigan Union, University of Michigan, Workshop Architects

Steal This Idea

The 2022 Steal this Idea Best in Show recipient is Sacramento State's Visiting Artists Calendar by Erin Umipeg. Find the complete listing here.

Load more comments
New code
Login to be able to comment