Outstanding Service Project of the Year Award

The purpose of this award is to recognize and honor outstanding programs and program leaders on individual campuses who have made significant contributions to the community and campuses in which they live. This award also spotlights the long history the Association has in the area of community and volunteer service and thereby renews the commitment we have to helping those around us. This increases the pride of the staff and students who work with the college union program on each campus and shows that college communities make a difference in a global sense.


Any individual, campus organization, or institution that is an ACUI member is eligible to apply for this award. Nominated program must meet the following minimum standards:

  • Have performed necessary service in the last 18 months
  • Have documentation about the project, who performed the service work, who aid was provided to and results of the project
  • The nominated project should come from an ACUI member institution
  • Be submitted by an applicant who agrees to allow a summary of the project and its accomplishments to be published


The review process includes, but is not limited to, an assessment of the criteria listed below. Due to the wide variety of programs that can be considered, a program does not need to meet each and every criterion.

  • Scope of creativity and implementation planning process by students and/or staff
  • Effectiveness of the project on the department on campus or the community where the ACUI member institution is located
  • Was the program of such integrity that the students, faculty, staff, and alumni of the institution will take pride in and be inspired by this recognition?
  • Is there a pattern of similar services with lasting impact such that they are successfully building their community and campus?

2015 Outstanding Service Project of the YearPrevious Recipients

2015 recipient:
Weber Ogden Adaptive Program at Weber State University—bringing high school students both with and without disabilities to work together in teams through an inter-school bowling competition. The program is a collaboration between the community and student organizations, helping students build social skills and become more accepting of peers different from themselves.

2014 recipient: National Hunger & Homelessness Awareness Week, Oregon State University
2013 recipient: Tiger Pantry, University of Missouri–Columbia
2012 recipient:
Gorter Family Foundation and North Chicago Community Partners Program, Lake Forest College
2011 recipient:
Knights Helping Knights Pantry, University of Central Florida
2010 recipient: Unified We Serve Project, California State University–Northridge

Nomination information

Please place nominations online by filling out the Outstanding Service Project of the Year Award nomination form to include the following information:

  • Name, title, institution, and contact information of the primary contact responsible for the program and contact information with partnering organizations/agencies
  • Name, title, institution, and contact information of nominator (if different)
  • A summary of the program, addressing:
    • Title and description of the program (including intended programmatic outcomes)
    • Program budget and identified funding sources
    • Evidence of achievement of goals through program evaluations
  • Supporting documentation of program. This could include photos, videos, marketing samples, etc. that directly support the program.

The nomination window for this year’s awards is currently closed, with recipients being presented at the 2016 annual conference. Nominations will be collected again in late 2016.

Selection and presentation

Applications will receive written or electronic notification confirming receipt of the application(s). The ACUI Awards Committee, appointed annually by the ACUI president, will review the applications in January to determine a winning program.  One winner will be chosen; one physical award will be given to the winning program. The winner will be recognized during the awards ceremony at the annual conference.

Updated Dec. 8, 2015