Adell McMillan Memorial Scholarship

McMillan1The Adell McMillan Memorial Fund was established to assist women in their development as leaders in the college union and student activities profession. McMillan served as director of the Erb Memorial Union at the University of Oregon, was president of ACUI, and was the recipient of the Butts-Whiting Award in 1987. In 2006, she authored a collection of oral histories of the college union movement and ACUI titled College Union Pioneers.  

This scholarship recognizes her role as one of the first women to serve as a leader of ACUI and her commitment to the development of women in leadership roles. The scholarship is open to women in college union and student activities who have demonstrated leadership potential either on their campus or in the Association. Applicants will be students who have demonstrated a commitment to working in the profession or professionals in the early years of their work in the profession. The scholarship may be used to support any activity that develops leadership potential: attendance at an ACUI professional development program, support for development of a scholarly article, or support to make a presentation at an ACUI professional development program.

Eligibility and criteria

Any woman who is employed full-time at an ACUI member institution or enrolled full-time as a student at an ACUI member institution is eligible for nomination. Additionally, nominees should meet the following eligibility requirements and criteria:

  • If a professional, have been in the field at least two years but not more than five years
  • Have demonstrated commitment to the college union and student activities field through institutional involvement

Nomination information

Please place nominations online by filling out the Adell McMillan Memorial Scholarship nomination form to include the following information:

  • Name, title, institution, and contact information of nominee
  • Letter of support indicating leadership potential from an appropriate institutional representative (examples: academic/faculty advisor or professional supervisor) or if appropriate, the supervisor of an ACUI volunteer team.
  • Letter of application, written by the applicant, to address the following (in 3,000 words or less):
    • The activity to be supported by the scholarship.
    • The expected learning outcomes from the experience.
    • How these learning outcomes complement the core competencies for the profession.
    • How you will develop as a leader through the experience provided.
    • Your past and current involvement with ACUI.
    • Your past and current campus involvement, highlighting work and/or leadership roles in the field of college union and/or student activities.

Selection and presentation 

Nominations will receive written or electronic notification confirming their receipt. The ACUI Common Awards Committee, appointed annually by the ACUI president, will review the applications to determine a winner. One winner will be chosen; one physical award will be given to the winner.

The winner will be recognized during the awards ceremony at the 2014 annual conference.

The 2014 awards deadline has passed. Next year's awards nominations will be due in November.

2014 recipient: Jennifer Powell, Valparaiso University
2013 recipient: Reece Painter-Payne, Central Connecticut State University
2012 recipient: Laura Rogalski, Western New England University 

Updated Sept. 8, 2014